Collaborating to fund, design and deliver innovative workforce development

The Workforce Partnership manages a variety of funding sources (public, private, philanthropy) to support workforce development throughout our region.

Two boards provide oversight: the Consortium Policy Board and the Workforce Development Board (WDB). Meetings are open to the public.

WDB Agendas & Minutes   Policy Board Agendas & Minutes

Workforce Development Board

The WDB reviews initiatives and makes recommendations to the Policy Board. Members represent our entire region—businesses, organized labor, education and community leaders. This group strengthens our work with all stakeholders to address the workforce needs of our region.

Board Members
  • Nabil Abu-Ghazaleh, Ed.D., President, Grossmont College
  • Andrew Berg, Executive Manager, National Electrical Contractors Association
  • Christina Bibler, Director of Economic Development, City of San Diego
  • Phil Blair, President, Manpower San Diego
  • David Blake, Principal Consultant, Building Forward Now
  • Dennis DuBard, Manager, Public and Government Relations, General Dynamic, NASSCO
  • Shandon Harbour, President and CEO, Associated Builders and Contractors
  • Ed Hidalgo, Chief of Innovation & Engagement Officer, Cajon Valley Union School District
  • Kevin Johnson, Training Director/CFO, San Diego & Imperial County Electrical Training Institute
  • Barb Krol, Chief Human Resources Officer at California Coast Credit Union
  • Tom Lemmon, Business Manager, San Diego County Building & Trades Council
  • Keith Maddox, Executive Secretary Treasurer, San Diego and Imperial Counties Regional Labor Council
  • Kurling Robinson, Founder, Fōkcus
  • Mimi Rosado, Total Force Manager | Deputy, Corporate Programs, Naval Information Warfare Center (NIWC) Pacific
  • Althea Salas, Vice President of Human Resources, San Diego Tourism Authority
  • Ricky Shabazz, Black Chamber of Commerce & President, San Diego City College
  • Sandra Shuda, Vice President of Strategy and Services, Watkins Wellness
  • Nancy Smith-Taylor, Director of Diversity and Workforce Management, SDG&E
  • Carmen Summers, Director of Sales, Microsoft Corporation
  • Annie Taamilo, Deputy Division Chief, Employment Development Department
  • Sammy Totah (WDB Chair), Chief Operating Officer, Kaiser Permanente San Diego
  • Carmencita Trapse, Regional Administrator, Department of Rehabilitation
  • Rick Vaccari, Vice President of Investor Relations and Pensions (retired), Sempra Energy
  • Michael Zucchet, General Manager, San Diego Municipal Employees Association

Policy Board

As the Workforce Partnership is a joint powers authority, this board is a partnership of the City and County of San Diego. Members include two County Supervisors, two San Diego City Councilmembers, and a community representative (currently the United Way of San Diego.) They appoint members and receive recommendations from the WDB. In collaboration with the WDB, the Policy Board decides on funding decisions and priorities.

Board Chairs
  • Chair — Greg Cox, Supervisor, County of San Diego
  • Vice Chair — Monica Montgomery, Councilmember, City of San Diego
Board Members
  • Jacob Richards, Board Member, United Way of San Diego County
  • Nathan Fletcher, Supervisor, County of San Diego
  • Barbara Bry, Council President Pro Tem, City of San Diego
  • Dianne Jacob, Chairperson, County of San Diego
  • Vivian Moreno, Councilmember, City of San Diego
  • Chris Ward, Councilmember, City of San Diego